The Wise Body
Practice Center
On Listening
0:00
-5:31

On Listening

Guest Episode by Charu

This recording gives some of my thoughts on listening; it complements Vaishali’s recent post on music and sound.


Notes

Here is part of the quote that I read in the recording:

When I ask you to listen and you start giving advice, you have not done what I have asked. 
When I ask you to listen and you start telling me why I shouldn't feel the way I do, you are invalidating my feelings. 
When I ask you to listen and you start trying to solve my problems, I feel underestimated and disempowered. 
When I ask you to listen and you start telling me what I need to do, I feel offended, pressured and controlled. 
When I ask you to listen, it does not mean I am helpless. I may be faltering, depressed or discouraged, but I am not helpless. 

—Author(s) unknown

Click on the play button to hear more. If you try any of suggestions that I have given, feel free to drop a comment about how it went for you. And if you have any questions, also leave a comment and I will reply as soon as possible.

Leave a comment

You can find out more about me at my website, where you can also book a 1-1 session.

If you appreciated this post, please consider giving a gift of gratitude, and subscribe to receive more like it. As I mentioned, I plan to release a short episode or article each month. Note that when you subscribe, you will also receive all of Vaishali’s posts (2-3 a month).

Give a gift

0 Comments
The Wise Body
Practice Center
Guided meditations and introspective practices to connect you with your Wise Body. Explore and discover your ways into a richer and more embodied experience of life.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Charu